Like Mystery and Suspense? 4 Authors You’ll Want to Read

I’ve been reading several new-to-me authors, mainly in the thriller/suspense/mystery genres, and thought I’d showcase a few of them. I’ve been blown away by the four listed here for different reasons. Hopefully, you’ll find a new-to-you author you may want to check out. (You can click on the covers to go to Amazon. I am an affiliate.)

The Inside Ring coverThe Inside Ring by Mike Lawson

I met Mike at Left Coast Crime last March (we were on a panel together) and he was one of the most down-to-earth, likeable guys I’ve ever met. The panel was a blast, and part of the reason was his wry sense of humor (actually, all of the other authors on that panel were witty as hell, which totally made the session). The Inside Ring is the first of the Joe DeMarco thrillers, and, sorry to use the cliche, but I was hooked from the first page. The setting is Washington, DC and DeMarco is a “fixer” for the Speaker of the House. There’s humor and suspense and, since I love thrillers with a side of wit, I took to his character immediately. If you enjoy entertaining political thrillers, I highly recommend the series.

 

cover for Cliff DiverCliff Diver by Carmen Amato

I discovered Carmen Amato through a Facebook group I belong to called Mexico Writers. I enjoy reading thrillers that take place in Mexico, and Amato’s books feature a wonderfully strong female protagonist named Emelia Cruz, Acapulco’s first and only female detective. Cruz is sharp, strong, and doesn’t take shit from any of her counterparts in the detective division, but she’s also feminine and her toughness doesn’t end up feeling forced. It’s rare to find a strong woman protagonist who doesn’t remind me of a man in women’s clothing (yes, I know that’s the definition of a cross-dresser, but that isn’t quite what I mean🙂 ) but Amato pulls it off with Cruz, and does it well. The mystery/thriller part of the novel kept me on the edge of my seat, in large part because I really liked Emelia and felt a vested interest in her success/safety. The book is a fast read and was another one that “had me at hello.” I’ll definitely be looking for the rest in the series.

 

Zero Scover for Zero Separationeparation by Philip Donlay

Another author I met on that panel at Left Coast Crime was thriller writer Philip Donlay. He also had a fabulous sense of humor and was quite interesting to talk to. Philip was a professional pilot for several years before becoming a novelist, and it shows in his books. The aviation scenes are riveting–just enough information to give the reader an idea of what’s going on, but not so much technical jargon to take you out of the story. I downloaded the audio version of his book, Zero Separation, and listened to it on my drive to and from the conference in Portland. He writes strong women really well, and his character, Donovan Nash, is fun to read–the man has secrets upon secrets. I’m deep into Donlay’s newest book, Aftershock, and can tell you it’s shaping up to be a fantastic read.

 

cover for All the Blue Eyed AngelsAll The Blue-Eyed Angels by Jen Blood

How could I do a post like this one and not mention one of my fav indies, Jen Blood? Yeah, I know she’s not knew-to-me, but her books are always worth a mention, and she might be new to you!

Jen and I met eons ago when she reviewed Bad Spirits. I liked what she had to say, so I picked up her book, All The Blue-Eyed Angels, and never looked back. This is one mystery series that you’ll want to start at the beginning and read straight through to the end. Her character, Erin Solomon, has a massive arc through the five books and diving into the middle just won’t do her justice. I hear Jen’s working on a book featuring a character from the series. Sounds like my TBR pile is going to grow🙂

So there you have it. Four thriller/mystery authors to check out. What about you guys? What are you reading? Do you have any authors in the mystery/thriller/suspense genre that you’d like to recommend? I’ll be doing these posts off and on, so suggestions are welcome!

 

 

About dvberkom

Bestselling author of the Kate Jones and Leine Basso thrillers. View all posts by dvberkom

7 responses to “Like Mystery and Suspense? 4 Authors You’ll Want to Read

Leave a Reply

