Yes, once more Amazon is “screwing” authors: Set to pay them .006 per page

A little common sense on the whole Kindle Unlimited kerfuffle…

About dvberkom

Bestselling author of the Kate Jones and Leine Basso thrillers. View all posts by dvberkom

10 responses to “Yes, once more Amazon is “screwing” authors: Set to pay them .006 per page

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    And removing reviews based on such spurious connections as a ‘follow’ on facebook.

    Like

  • jinxschwartz

    Hello? Authors with short books selling at .99 were getting 1.34or so for KUs. And those of us with 3.99 books (75,000 words and over) were getting the same. And I know of some authors who took a full length novels and divided them into three novellas to cash in on KU. I’m sorry to say, I just don’t think it takes that much time to write a novella vs a full-length novel.
    However, that said, I think there needs to be some leveling out for short stories. I don’t write them, but I like them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dvberkom

      That’s why I like Bob’s posts so much–he brings a down-to-earth, common sense approach to all the hysteria surrounding the changes affecting indies. This is a ground-breaking time for writers. Seismic. It ain’t gonna be easy, and it certainly isn’t going to normalize anytime soon. Expect disruption. When things flatline/become static is when we need to start worrying. Change has always brought opportunity. Especially for those who can easily adapt.

      Like

  • Polly Iyer

    Criticize Amazon all you want. I wouldn’t have 7 soon to be 8 books published if it weren’t for Amazon. I don’t know any business who puts their bottom line last, and Amazon is first and foremost a business. No one is twisting anyone’s arm to be in Select. Don’t like it? Opt out. I did for a year and went with a distributor. My books were on B&N, Kobo, iBooks, and, at that time, Sony. I kept Amazon for myself. I never made more in one month on all the other platforms than I made on borrows in one month, sometimes, one week. Write a good book. Since I write long books, so I think Amazon’s change is fair. No one will know until we have a chance to see how it all shakes out.

    Liked by 2 people

  • melparish

    It is interesting how many authors seem to think Amazon owes them something when, as Polly says above, most wouldn’t be even published if it weren’t for Amazon in the first place. Nobody is forcing us to be in KU. If people insist on trying to game a system, that system will eventually have to change so really if anyone is to blame for the changes, it’s not Amazon, it’s the people who tried to game the system – probably the very ones who are now complaining.

    Liked by 2 people

  • dvberkom

    Sigh. Amazon is nothing if not controversial. Yes, they can get a little ham handed on removing reviews, but hey–it’s their company–they can do what they want. And thank goodness Select is voluntary. But I have to agree–if it wasn’t for KDP (and Nookpress, and iBooks, and KOBO, and Smashwords), I wouldn’t have been able to quit my day job and write full time, wouldn’t have found as many readers for my work. For that I am more than grateful.

    All I can say is, what a fantastic era for writers!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

