The Great E-book Pricing Question

Interesting thoughts on ebook pricing…

David Gaughran

soulsale There’s more guff written about pricing than almost anything else, resulting in an extremely confusing situation for new self-publishers. I often see them pricing too low or too high, and the decision is rarely made the right way, i.e. ascertaining their goals and pricing accordingly.

Price/value confusion

Before we get to the nuts-and-bolts, it’s time to slay a zombie meme. Much of the noise on this issue springs from conflating two concepts, namely price and value.

Authors often say something like, “My book is worth more than a coffee.” Or publishers might say, “A movie costs $10 and provides two hours of entertainment. Novels provide several times that and should cost more than $9.99.”

Price and value are two different things. From Wikipedia:

Economic value is not the same as market price. If a consumer is willing to buy a good, it implies that the customer places a higher value…

View original post 1,285 more words

About dvberkom

Bestselling author of the Kate Jones and Leine Basso thrillers. View all posts by dvberkom

2 responses to “The Great E-book Pricing Question

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    I saw this, too, and re-posted it on my site. David is always thought-provoking.

    Like

    • dvberkom

      Yeah, this one got him a LOT of reblogs🙂 I’m always interested in ebook pricing. I play around every now and then, but it seems he’s right about 3,99-4.99, as is SW, with sales for .99 goosing the backlist. I doubt I’ll ever price above 4.99, mainly b/c that’s the price I’d pay. I usually balk at 5.99 and above for an ebook, unless it’s an author I know and I can’t wait until it goes on sale.

      Like

Leave a Reply

